I now use Picasa 3.9 with Google+. Over time, meaning from January 20, 2012 when I wrote this article, I have learned how to send my albums to family and friends using the Google+ program.
I believe what we all wish to do is move forward as technology not only changes, but improves the way we accomplish anything. That is why I am posting this note and sharing how I have moved forward with what I have learned and can share with others.
What I have done is to keep my Google+ subscription because as Google+ stated, at least at one time, that if someone totally unsubscribed to their program, that person would not be able to recreate their subscription using their original information. In Google+ I make al of my settings "To Me" and nothing goes out to the circles I created at first. I then work my way through the options for my albums in Google+ until I come to the option that I can send my photos or album via email addresses. I can send the photos or albums as attachments to an email, or I can email the Google+ link for others to open the photos or albums.
The information below should also still work if you do not wish to see your photos in Picasa upload to Google+ albums.
I have had to work through several problems and processes to possess, retain, and use the best options for my needs to send my online Google Picasa Web Albums to families and friends since upgrading to Picasa Version 3.9 with Google+.
Downgrade from Google+ - Google+ Help
One fundamental principle of Picasa is that it never overwrites original images. This means that any changes applied to images using Picasa are stored only as differences relative to the original file, and only appear within Picasa. To see any changes in other software, the user must Export the images.”
At some point, I will probably look for Download Picasa 3.8 Build 117.43 as it was the latest Picasa 3.8 Version that included:
- Fixed importing from scanners.
- Fixed Backup and Restore creating duplicate .ini files